You are here

Scheduling basics

Scheduling is a national classification system that controls how medicines and poisons are made available to the public. Medicines and poisons are classified into Schedules according to the level of regulatory control over the availability of the medicine or poison required to protect public health and safety.

The Schedules are

Schedule 1 Not currently in use
Schedule 2 Pharmacy Medicine
Schedule 3 Pharmacist Only Medicine
Schedule 4 Prescription Only Medicine OR Prescription Animal Remedy
Schedule 5 Caution
Schedule 6 Poison
Schedule 7 Dangerous Poison
Schedule 8 Controlled Drug
Schedule 9 Prohibited Substance
Schedule 10 Substances of such danger to health as to warrant prohibition of sale, supply and use

The Schedules are published in the Poisons Standard and are given legal effect through state and territory legislation. The Poisons Standard is also referred to as the Standard for the Uniform Scheduling of Medicines and Poisons (SUSMP).